I lay in my bed thinking of my birthday, the thrilling party, exciting presents and a chocolate cake, but that doesn’t matter to me as much as what I accomplished when I was 13.  How did I help to influence lives of other people? Did I accomplish all my goals? These questions always pop up in my mind before every birthday.

Open your eyes to a wider picture. If we are to appreciate the fruits of life, we must first appreciate the tree that bears the fruit: birth itself.

When I think of birthdays, I think of a beginning. It is a window of a lifetime, and a chance to fulfill your unique missions. A birthday is more than receiving presents and eating cake, it is a chance to remember the day that a major event occurred.  

As I logged in to my Twitter page, I searched for #Birthday and I saw lots of Tweets about people turning 40, 50, 16 etc… And that made me think of the value of each day, how we live and how we appreciate it. While you read this sentence a child will be born and another will be dead.  Every single minute a world record will be broken, conflicts and celebrations occur around the world. We think we are different, but we are the same more than you ever can imagine.  

We should celebrate our birthday as a reminder of our original purpose here on this planet. During the year we have sojourned through the twelve months and twelve zodiacal signs gaining the experiences that life has to offer us. Every year, we return to the time of our birth, not quite the same as we were the year before. Each sojourn around the sun is different and brings new opportunities for greater awareness and self-realization.

Our birthdays are a celebration of the gift of life, given to us by the Universal Spirit. It is a time to reflect on who we are, what we have been given and what we plan to achieve.  

Sometimes thinking about your life and sorting out what you have learned is just as important as tackling a new venture. It is not like I’m turning 20 or 30, but overall, I always cringe when I approach a new age. For some reasons, we don’t realize how powerful our lives can be until we reflect and share our experiences. Here are 14 lessons I learned in 14 years.

  -          A life without cause is a life without effect.
  -          It’s never too early to start something new.
  -          Dream wild beyond the boundaries and limits.  
  -          Personal glory lasts forever.
  -          Take a lot of pictures; someday you’ll be really glad you did!
  -           Life is a roller coaster; don’t be scared…
  -          Appreciate time; it’s the only thing you own.
  -          Laugh, cry and enjoy life, nothing can be repeated.
  -          Being a vegetarian can teach you a lot of things, from compassion to simplicity.
  -          Rules are meant to be broken.
  -          Climb your own Everest.
  -          If someone feels they had never made a mistake in their life, then it means they had never tried a new thing in their life…
  -          Change yourself before changing the world
  -          Winning doesn’t always mean being first, winning means you’re doing better than you have done before.
  
I didn’t climb Everest or went to  Mars {I know I will soon :P} But I did find a purpose in my life and I did use my writings to inspire others. Always remember 29th July is important not only because it is my birthday:

1981 UK Charles and Diana Marriage 

29th July 1981 : Prince Charles marries Lady Diana at a royal ceremony at St. Paul's Cathedral, it is estimated 500 million television viewers in 74 countries tune in to witness the fairytale marriage. :D!

So as my Birthday will be official in couple of hours, I will always remember that eventually all the pieces fall into place. Until then, laugh at the confusion, live for the moment and know that everything happens for a reason.




Leave a Reply.